EVK (Estonia)

Eesti Vabariigi Kultuuriministeerium

Profile of the organisation

Within the Estonian Government, the Ministry of Culture is responsible for organising and coordinating state cultural policy. The task of the Ministry of Culture is to make sure that necessary and favourable conditions, both legislative and financial, are created for the functioning of culture, heritage and sports from the culture professionals’ as well as the general public’s point of view.

The mission of the Ministry of Culture is to support the maintaining of the Estonian national identity by valuing, preserving, developing, acknowledging and spreading Estonian fine arts, cultural heritage and sport in Estonia and abroad supporting both the professional and amateur activities in creativity and sport.

Ministry of Culture has participated in MichaelPLUS, MinervaEC, MICHAEL Plus, Athena and CARARE projects and currently is participating in DCH-RP, Linked Heritage and ATHENA Plus projects.

The mission of IT Division is to coordinate and support digitisation activities and developing different IT solutions for institutions under the ministry.

Estonian cultural institutions actively digitise collections and therefore there is growing demand for new services in the fields of digital preservation.


Role in the project

Representing cultural institutions that provide content for pilots and run on-site validation with user groups.


Key personnel

Mirjam Rääbis

Mirjam Rääbis has worked as a collection coordinator at the Estonian Art Museum and from 2013 been coordinating museum collections in larger scale across Estonia at the Ministry of Culture. Graduated in information science (University of Tartu, 2007) she has been involved with the development of Estonian national Museum Information System since 2008. One of the tasks at the Ministry is to analyze and coordinate museum´s collection policies. She has also been involved in several European projects : DCH-RP, Athena Plus, RICHES and Preforma.

Anton Pärn

  • University of Tartu, MA in archaeology
  • 1986– 2001 National Heritage Board, area of responsibility – archaeology.
  • 1993-2001 Deputy Director General of the National Heritage Board.
  • Since 2002 Deputy Secretary General of the Ministry of Culture.

Fields of responsibility: cultural heritage